The Ultimate Guide to Egypt Scuba Diving: Understanding Different Diver Levels

Are you ready to explore the captivating underwater world of Egypt through scuba diving? Whether you are a beginner or an experienced diver, Egypt offers a wide range of dive sites that cater to divers of all levels. To fully appreciate and maximize your diving experience in Egypt, it is crucial to understand the different diver levels and their requirements.

Open Water Diver

If you are new to scuba diving or have limited experience, you will likely start as an Open Water Diver. This level allows you to dive to a maximum depth of 18 meters (60 feet) under the direct supervision of a certified dive professional. As an Open Water Diver, you will learn essential diving skills and safety procedures through a certified scuba diving course. This certification is your ticket to explore the mesmerizing coral reefs and diverse marine life of Egypt.

Advanced Open Water Diver

Once you have gained some experience as an Open Water Diver, you can advance to the next level as an Advanced Open Water Diver. This certification allows you to dive to a maximum depth of 30 meters (100 feet) and enhances your diving skills through various specialty courses. As an Advanced Open Water Diver, you will have the opportunity to explore more challenging dive sites and expand your underwater knowledge.

Rescue Diver

For divers looking to enhance their diving skills and become more proficient in handling emergency situations, becoming a Rescue Diver is the next step. This level focuses on accident prevention, emergency management, and rescue techniques. As a Rescue Diver, you will learn how to assist other divers in distress and become a more self-reliant and responsible diver. This certification is a significant achievement and prepares you for leadership roles in diving.

Dive Master

If you are passionate about diving and aspire to become a dive professional, earning the Dive Master certification is essential. This level is the first step towards becoming a certified dive instructor and involves extensive training in dive theory, practical skills, and leadership abilities. As a Dive Master, you will assist dive instructors, guide certified divers, and gain invaluable experience in dive operations. This certification opens up opportunities for career advancement in the diving industry.

Master Scuba Diver

The pinnacle of recreational diving is achieving the Master Scuba Diver certification. This level recognizes divers who have completed various specialty courses, logged a significant number of dives, and demonstrated exceptional diving skills. As a Master Scuba Diver, you have mastered multiple diving disciplines and earned the respect of your peers in the diving community. This certification is a testament to your dedication and passion for diving.


ssi diver in Egypt offers a diverse and vibrant underwater paradise for divers of all levels. By understanding the different diver levels and their requirements, you can safely and confidently explore the spectacular dive sites that Egypt has to offer. Whether you are just starting your diving journey or aiming to become a certified dive professional, Egypt’s scuba diving scene has something for everyone. So, pack your gear, dive into the crystal-clear waters of Egypt, and embark on an unforgettable underwater adventure!